Rules of the Running Road

I’ve been running for years, but running in Chicago is a different animal! I have learned a few important lessons since moving here on the 1st.

Windy Days: When enjoying a run on a blustery day DO NOT RUN ON THE BEACH! You will be pelted and whipped by sand… and it hurts. It is also important to note that the lake has much bigger waves on windy days. It is not advisable to run on the pier. You will get struck by waves repeatedly.

Bikers: Look out for bikers. They mean business.

Geese: The geese that live at North Pond do not want to be your friend. Especially when they have lots of little baby geese with them. I have decided that all geese are angry and should be given at least 5 feet of room.

Zoo Smells : Lincoln Park Zoo is a beautiful old zoo. I am so fortunate that I get to live so close to it. I was very excited by the idea of part of my run going passed the camels and mountain goats. When my nose was assaulted by the ripe camel/goat fragrance, I realized that perhaps running by the zoo would not be as lovely as I had originally thought…

I am still learning new things every day! I’ll continue to post about more lessons as I learn them the hard way!

I’m very excited for this weekend to start! My brother is currently on his way to visit my sister, my brother-in-law, my boyfriend, and me! I don’t think that I mentioned that I am now neighbors with my sister and her husband! My sister is like my best friend, so it is pretty exciting! We are planning to go for dinner and then see where the night takes us! Those are the best kinds of nights!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

