The nasty blanket of fog that was chillin’ over Chicago all last week finally moved on! On Saturday I could actually see the skyline again while I ran! I could actually feel the sunshine! After feeling a little bored last week during my daily runs, Saturday and Sunday left me feeling super refreshed.

20140628_082449

 

This was an exciting weekend in Chicago. The pride parade was on Saturday! Since the parade is such a huge event, North Avenue Beach was super alive while I was on my run! Fleet Feet (a sporting goods company) had a table set up by the beach and they were handing out cups of water and Gatorade all of the runners! So awesome of them!

20140628_082739

 

 

Charmin (the toilet paper company) had “Luxury” bathrooms set-up on the beach as some sort of promotion. I didn’t need to go to the bathroom… but if I had, I would have been happy to use these!!

20140628_082756

My boyfriend and I met up with some of his cousins at the parade. It was SO fun! I can’t even put into words the amount of happiness and energy that was there! I will definitely try to go again next year!

20140629_131715

20140629_131205I actually ended up collecting all sorts of goodies! I was pretty excited about some of the coupons that were being given chucked  everywhere! I ended up with an Akira coupon, Field Museum discounts, Chipotle coupons, taxi coupons… Not bad!!!

Yay for free stuff!

Yay for free stuff!

As mentioned in my previous post, I promised myself a new pair of shoes! I followed through on that promise yesterday, and tried them out today! They are great! I’m a Saucauny girl when it comes to running shoes and I found a great pair that were only $40! I was pretty excited considering what I normally pay for a pair of running shoes!

So without further ado… Meet my new kicks!

20140630_193806Love them!!! While I was on my run, I literally wanted to smack myself for not getting a new pair sooner! Such a bad choice considering how many miles I run… Never again! I think I should treat my poor feet to a pedi… they’ve earned it, right???

Last night was date night again! We got some Kentucky Bourbon Ale (a must-try) and went to a BYOB Thai restaurant called Noodles in the Pot. After dinner we played some Donkey Kong Country on Super Nintendo, went out for a drink, fro yo, and then called it a night! It was great! Our next date night is my choice, and I’m pretty predictable when it comes to dining. I’m leaning towards sashimi (of course), but perhaps I will branch out a bit. There ARE some really interesting Turkish restaurants that I’ve been wanting to try… we’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

