Door County 2014 Recap! (Part 1)

Hello! I hope you are all having a fantastic Wednesday! The first day of my new job went really well. I am totally stressed and overwhelmed, but excited at the same time. I have a TON of work to do in the next few weeks. Tomorrow is a new staff orientation. I am hoping that learning the ins and outs of how everything works will calm me down a bit. I’m ready to get my hands dirty and get started!

Tomorrow is a pretty big day for another reason as well. It is Kevin and my 1 year anniversary! I can’t believe that it has already been 1 year since I met him at Yard House and turned my nose up at his choice of beer! Time flies when you’re having fun! He is such a great guy, and I am SUPER lucky. We are actually really busy tomorrow, and will only see each other in the morning. We’re going to celebrate on Monday night. Hopefully we’ll have time to do breakfast or coffee… and gaze into each other’s sleepy eyes! AWWWW!

Now for the main event… Door County 2014 Recap!!!

I look forward to this trip every year. Peninsula State Park in Door County, Wisconsin is such a beautiful and exciting place. I was especially excited to go this year because Kevin came with us for the first time. We actually a couple of days after I got home from the 2013 Door County trip so he obviously could not come with at that point… Kevin used to go to Door County with his family so he has lots of memories there as well.

Day 1: Kevin and I hit the road at 11:00 a.m. after my 5.25 mile run of course. Since I was still on narcotics (for the pain from my surgrey) he was obligated to drive my drugged-up booty the whole way there. It’s a 4.5 hour drive so it’s not TOO bad.

Every year, it is a tradition to stop at the Door Peninsula Winery to taste and buy. We ended up with a dry cherry wine. SOOOO freaking yum! I wish we had bought a few more bottles… Thank God for the online store! Phew!

We all arrived at the campground at about the same time. We all set up our tents (Kevin proudly hung the Chicago flag on ours), started a campfire, made our dinner (spicy black bean burgers for my sister and I and brats for everyone else), drank GREAT beer (thanks to Elle and Ben for that growler of uncommonly amazing stout) and enjoyed the evening catching up and just being a family!

Day 2: I have always loved waking up in a tent, but this day was better than ever because I got to wake up with my sweet boyfriend next to me. There is nothing quite like waking up to the sounds of birds, crackling fires, and snores from your favorite person! 

Even though camping is a very go-with-the-flow kind of vacation, I still need to stick to my routines. So of course I brought my 5 grain oatmeal (pre measured in individual sandwich bags for each morning), cinnamon, all-spice, stevia, and salt for breakfast.

20140731_073213

Not bad for camping, right? RIGHT?!?

Another morning routine that cannot be messed with is COFFEE! While in Door County, we walk to the beach which has the “camp store”. This is where we get our coffee! Then we sit on the beach and look at the water for a bit! Such a great view for coffee drinking!

coffee view

After eating my delish breakfast (that I am apparently way over-excited about), I went for a beautiful morning run through the woods. It was so peaceful and mind-clearing. I actually saw a deer which was pretty amazing. My family doesn’t understand why I insist on running while on vacation. If you’re a dedicated runner, you KNOW that a vacation is one of the best times to run!

When I got back from my run, we went on a family hike to Eagle Tower. Eagle Tower is 80 feet tall, and It’s a spectacular look-out point.

Kevin, my brother, and my brother-in-law all love to golf, so they had a 3:00 tee time scheduled which gave my mom, sister, my sister’s dog, and I some time to sit at the beach. My dad enjoyed a solo bike ride.

20140731_161429

 

beach beverages

20140731_183757

Ruby (my sister’s pup) enjoying the trip

The boys had  A LOT of fun golfing, and came back starving. We picked up some pizza from Wild Tomato (really good) and we all pigged out. I even proke my healthy eating obsession to stuff my face with a ton of pizza. The greatest part of this was that I didn’t have much food guilt (I struggle with that) afterward. I normally punish myself with extra hard workouts, but I didn’t! My family was happy to see me treat myself to it, too! 

OOOOK!!!! This post is getting WAY long. I will finish the re-cap tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

