Door County Trip 2014 (Part 2)

I will continue where I left off…

Day 3: Last year, my sister, brother-in-law and I found a private beach that was a bit off the beaten path. We spend a lot of time there, and we loved it. It was super relaxing and peaceful. This year we were able to convince my entire family to pack a picnic lunch, and spend a good portion of the afternoon there. It was great.

ruby swimming

Ruby loves to swim and play fetch with her frisbee!

After the beach, we all went off on our own for a bit. Kevin and I went to Fish Creek to buy some old fashioned candy! We bought dots, those wax coke bottles with the fruity stuff in the middle, and those flying saucer wafers that have the sweet sprinkles in the middle! Brought us both back the childhood!

Day 4:Kevin and I started the day off by getting an awesome breakfast at a swedish restaurant called Al Johnsons. If you’ve been to Door County, you know what I’m talking about… they have real live goats living on the roof! Instead of regular strawberry jam, they serve this amazing lingnonberry spread. So good…. and yes, I bought a jar of it.

20140806_161432

20140802_084932

View of the lake outside of the restaurant (in Sister Bay).

All of the “kids” (my brother, sister, brother-in-law, Kevin, and I) went on a kayak trip to horseshoe island. It was pretty awesome!

Kevin and I decided that we wanted to ride bikes to Fish Creek and explore a bit. We ended up doing a wine flight at a restaurant called, The Cookery. We also ate a yummy whitefish spread.

20140802_154920

Dinner was fish from a German restaurant. So good!

20140802_181706

My blackened whitefish

 20140802_181715

Kevin’s pan fried walleye

The night ended with ice cream from Wilson’s and watching the beautiful sunset. SIGH!!!!

wilsons

20140802_195507All wonderful vacations have to come to an end at some point… The next morning, we packed up and headed back to reality!

Until next summer, Door County!!! I miss you already!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

