Dedication or Obsession

My alarm went off at 4:15 a.m. today… on purpose. Today was my final day of work before Christmas, so I planned to totally veg after work! Not to mention that it IS a Friday, which means traffic is horrendous (especially on the Kennedy)! The last thing I wanted to think about on my sickeningly long and torturous commute, was the fact that before I could officially relax after a hectic week, I still had to (well needed to) go for my daily run.

When my alarm went off I thought I would die… but I didn’t. After the first mile of my run, I started to wake up. I then realized that I would not be doing this after my afternoon commute! YES! I smiled for the rest of my run, showered, dressed, went to work, and put all of my energy into having an amazing day with my colleagues and the fantastic kiddos that I work with!

One day, I hope that I can go to bed on a night before a day like today, and not feel the NEED to set my alarm for 4:15 a.m. If I do set it for that early, I want it to feel less necessary. I have not skipped a run since July (I was in the hospital), and it’s not because I’m training for something. It’s not because I have all of the time in the world. While I DO love running, I don’t always want to do it. I don’t always feel awesome, and on those days I should be able to skip… but I don’t.

Not sure if that is dedication or obsession.

2 thoughts on “Dedication or Obsession

Leave a Reply

