Off to a good start

I am super proud of myself! I am SO happy that I kept track of all of my running mileage in 2014 (thank you OCD tendencies), because I did some math and figured out that I ran 1413.2 miles in 2014! I’m not sure if that is awesome, but by my calculations, that is averaging over 100 miles per month… not bad! I would really like to beat that mileage (in a healthy way) in 2015.

Something that was kind of neat, was that I texted my 2014 mileage to my dad and he responded by saying, “I still have my notebooks that I recorded my daily running mileage from when I was your age or even younger.” I guess the apple didn’t fall too far from the tree! I told him that I would love to see his running logs sometime. I don’t know why, but I love when I take after my dad without trying or even realizing it. I love my mom, too, but our similarities are more apparent than the ones that my dad and I share.

Today was a fantastic running day. Chicago saw a few chilly/windy days recently. Running 3+ miles was difficult, because my fingers would start to go numb. I HATE that. I dressed extra warm today, and the weather was pretty decent. If anything I was a tad overdressed. I would rather be a little too warm than a little too cold, though.

20150102_095520

I always feel like a ninja when I am dressed for winter running. I wouldn’t mess with me!

So anyway… I had planned on running about 5 miles at a leisurely pace, but when I started my run I was feeling pretty awesome. The weather was perfect, and I felt strong. I got to my turn around point, and just kept going. I ended up running 8 miles! I loved it. Since I heard that the weather is going to be nasty cold, I doubt that I will be running that distance (outdoors) anytime soon. For those of you that are familiar with the Chicago Lake Shore Bike Path, I ran from Lincoln Park to Navy Pier and then back to Lincoln Park. I was in the best mood for the rest of the day!

I mentioned that I didn’t do a whole lot on New Year’s Eve (and was quite content with that), and therefore I felt great on New Year’s Day. I went for a 3.2 mile run (my fingers started to freeze) and there was a lot of evidence that people had perhaps too much fun the night before… Case in point… the following photo:

20150101_092107

Just in case you can’t tell what this is a picture of, I will explain… at the top of the photo, you will notice a black piece of fabric. That would be a tie. At the bottom of the photo, there is a white, button-up shirt. I would LOVE to know the story behind this scene! It was SO cold out on NYE! I would be one to keep my shirt on!!

My boyfriend and I celebrated on New Year’s Day. We had some yummy smoked salmon, crackers, and vintage cheddar. I also made some shrimp tacos that were absolutely amazing if I do say so myself…

20150101_171841

The silly mouse knife is the cheese knife that I have been using since college… love it.

I feel like 2015 is off to a great start for me! I hope all of you are feeling similar!

Leave a Reply

