Matter Over Mind

I’m having a disagreement with my legs… yes… my legs.

I am actually quite irritated with myself. Last Friday I was feeling super motivated to run 8 miles on Saturday. I haven’t run 8 miles since the beginning of the month, and I was feeling a bit antsy. I woke up on Saturday feeling refreshed and ready to go. I got all of my warm running (ninja) gear on, and headed out.

Right away, my legs were feeling tired. It was difficult to make them move. Mind over matter, mind over matter! I can do hard things, I can do hard things! I repeated these motivating mantras over and over again, but my legs would not shut up. They were yelling at me for a break. My mind wanted to keep going. I really thought I would be able to muscle through and complete the 8 miles that I had committed to, but I got to a point on the path that I was running on that was completely covered in ice… I turned around and headed home.

I only ended up running 6 miles. I think the thing that bums me out the most is that I COULD have extended my run by just changing my route. I COULD have told my legs to quite down, but I didn’t. This “failure” set the tone for my running week, and I have been having a hard time. I’m not enjoying my runs. I’m not motivated. I’m not properly fueling my body… I’m just… Blah…

I am going to “reset” myself on Saturday, and set the same distance goal for myself on Saturday. Mind over matter!

2 thoughts on “Matter Over Mind

  1. Yup–we all have those runs. Tuesday morning I had one of those on the treadmill. So I broke it up and made it into multiple shorter runs doing other things in between. Somehow, I got out of my funk by the end.
    On another note–glad you didn’t play with the ice, it isn’t worth it!

Leave a Reply

