Snowboarding in Wausau!

Can you say, “perfect snowboarding weather?” I was able to say that umpteen times last weekend when I went up to Wausau, Wisconsin to snowboard with Kevin, my sister, and my brother-in-law… Last year, we went around the same time, and it was ridiculously cold… Polar Vortex cold. This year… completely different story. It was sunny and in the 20s. Amazing! I only usually get to go snowboarding once a year, so having our trip land on a great-weather weekend was fantastic! Last year was Kevin’s first time snowboarding, and he did really well! I remember having bruised knees (and ego) when I learned how to snowboard many years ago… Kevin has already conquered the blue hill, and I am very proud of him!!

Tonight is family dinner night with my sister and brother-in-law, and it is our turn to host. I am making black bean soup topped with sliced avocado and pico de gallo. I’m also making arugula salad with apple chips, roasted almonds, gorgonzola cheese, and a homemade white wine vinegar and dijon dressing. I’m still not sure what I’m going to make for dessert. We are focusing on a lighter meal tonight since Valentine’s Day weekend calls for fancy dinners and rich desserts… I’m thinking that dessert will be fresh fruit with some sort of yogurt dip. We shall seeeee.

I am SUPER excited for tomorrow, because Kevin and I are going to my favorite Italian restaurant called, Quartino for our Valentine’s Day dinner. They serve small plates, which is awesome for us, because we both like to sample many different things as we eat. We are celebrating a day early because we have some scheduling issues with Saturday.

We will be eating LOTS of seafood… Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

