Running club – a new type of challenge

I have been faced with yet another challenge with my running obsessions. I think this challenge will benefit me in the long run, but at this point, it is… well… a challenge.

I started a kids running club with my colleague through work. She and I have planned it out so that the club meets twice per week for an hour at a time. I lead the club on one of the days, and she leads the club on the other day. Being an avid clinically obsessed runner, the amount of running that I complete with the kids is not nearly to the rigor that I normally train.

I am able to get some of the kids to run up to 2 miles, but that is with a water break after 1 mile, another water break at 1.5 miles, and ANOTHER water break after 1.75 miles. While I am running with the kids, I am so proud of them. The fact that kids are taking their own free time to develop the skills to become runners, is amazing! I never had that type of discipline when I was that age.

The challenge for me does not occur until after the club ends, and I am sitting in traffic thinking about how little I ran. I am also thinking about the possibility of doing a quick miles on the treadmill when I get home. I am thinking about how I should have set my alarm for 4:30 a.m. so I could have gotten a 3 mile run in before work.

What I SHOULD be thinking about is: how cool it is that I am sharing my passion for running with kids. I should be thinking about how taking an easy/rest day is actually a good thing for my running.

So, while having this running club is a mental challenge for me, I know it is a good thing. I am teaching kids to live a healthy lifestyle. I am teaching myself to not worry so much about “missing” a run.

I have running club after work today. The sun is shining, and I’m going to enjoy every. single. minute.

Leave a Reply

